Snelson elected SBE President


Membership of the SBE has elected Joseph Snelson, CPBE, 8-VSB as its next president. Snelson, who is vice president of engineering at Meredith Corp., will begin his one-year term on October 30. Snelson currently serves as the SBE vice president, chairs the SBE Frequency Coordination Committee and serves on the society’s certification and government relations committees. Snelson resides in Las Vegas, Nev. and is a member of the Las Vegas SBE chapter.

Elected vice president is Jerry Massey, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNT of Greenville, S.C. Massey is corporate regional engineer and director of engineering for Entercom Communications. He currently is the SBE national treasurer and is chairman of Chapter 86, Greenville, Spartanburg, Ashville.

Elected to a third one-year term as secretary is Jim Leifer, CPBE, of Boynton Beach, Fla. Leifer is director of engineering and IT for Clear Channel South Florida and is a member of Chapter 53, South Florida. He also chairs the SBE By-laws Committee.

Elected treasurer is Andrea Cummis, CBT, CTO of Roseland, N.J. Cummis is a broadcast consultant and owner of AC Video. She is a member of the SBE Board of Directors and chairs the publications committee.

Elected to two-year terms as directors on the board are:

Ted Hand, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB; Director of Engineering/Operations, COX Media Group-Charlotte, Charlotte, N.C.

Kirk Harnack, CBRE; Vice President and Executive Director, Telos Systems, Nashville, Tenn.

Mark Heller, CPBE, CTO, President, General Manager, Chief Engineer, WGBW/WLWB Radio, Two Rivers, Wis.

Ched Keiler, CPBE, 8-VSB, CBNT; Broadcasting Consultant, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Tom Ray, CPBE, AMD, DRB; President, Tom Ray Broadcast Consulting, New Windsor, N.Y.

Dennis Wallace, CBTE; Managing Partner, Meintel, Sgrignoli & Wallace, Waldorf, Md.

The national board of directors is responsible for the development of policy and determines the programs and services the society provides to its members. Those just elected will join five other directors who have one year remaining in their two-year terms: Tim Anderson, CPBE, DRB, CBNE; John Heimerl, CPBE; Gary Kline, CBT, CBNT; Scott Mason, CPBE, CBNT and Wayne Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, DRB, CBNE. An additional director will be appointed by Snelson to fill the director seat vacated by newly elected treasurer, Andrea Cummis. Ralph Hogan, CPBE, DRB, CBNE, will serve on the board as immediate past president.

Induction of the newly elected officers and directors will be conducted during the SBE Annual Membership Meeting, held as a part of the SBE National Meeting in Indianapolis, Ind. The membership meeting will be streamed live via the Internet from 4 to 5 pm ET, Wednesday, October 30. The SBE National Meeting is being held in conjunction with the Indiana Broadcasters Association’s Broadcast Engineering and IT Workshop.