Swed Stone, Childs headline 2012 Urban Knight Award honorees


Natalie SwedstoneNatalie Swed Stone, US Director, National Radio Investment of Omnicom Group (OMD) and Hymen Childs, Partner, Service Broadcasting Dallas headline this year’s distinguished class to be honored at the 10th annual 2012 Urban Knight Awards.  Hosted by American Urban Radio Networks, the awards are designed to honor those in urban radio who have helped to significantly improve marketing and sales to the African American consumer marketplace.

The awards presentation will take place on Wednesday, 9/19 at the NAB/RAB Radio Show.

Childs, who has owned Dallas urban powerhouse KKDA-FM for nearly 40 years, will be inducted in the Urban Knight Hall of Fame joining such notables as Charles Warfield, Cathy Hughes, Alfred Liggins, Lew and John Dickey, just to name a few.  “Through good times and difficult times KKDA has consistently super served Dallas’ Black community” said Jerry Lopes, President of Program Operations & Affiliations for AURN.  “Whether a talent or sales person you wanted to be part of the Service Broadcasting team as it is considered one of the most coveted positions in urban radio, primarily because of the positive, family atmosphere Childs created.”

Swed Stone is one of five honorees to receive an Urban Knight Award and she is the first to receive an award in the newly created advertiser category.  In her position as US Director, National Radio Investment at OMD she oversees such brands as J.C. Penny, Lowe’s, Pepsi, H&R Block and Visa.  “It is a pleasure to honor Natalie and having her receive this inaugural award.  Throughout the years, Natalie has always been a huge supporter of Urban Radio,” said Howard Eisen, President of Network Sales.

Also receiving Urban Knight awards:

Dot Ealy, Vice President/Market Manager, Cumulus Tallahassee, FL

Kelvin Quarles, General Manager, KMOJ-FM Minneapolis, MN

Tony Quartarone, Owner, WJKS-F, Wilmington DE

Jeff Silver, Regional VP/Market Manager, WBLK-FM Buffalo NY

The event will be hosted by Doug Banks, DeDe McGuire and Rudy Rush from the nationally syndicated “Doug Banks Radio Show.”