Three More on the LRFA Bandwagon


US CongressSupport is continuing to build for the Local Radio Freedom Act, which opposes any legislation that would impose a performance royalty on AM and FM radio stations.

The primary sponsors are Representatives Michael Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX), and Senators John Barrasso (R-WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).

New co-sponsors in the House are Lou Barletta (PA-11), Jim Bridenstine (OK-1) and Ken Buck (CO-4).

That brings the total number of representatives to 166. There are 13 more in the Senate.

The bill states, “Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings.”