Three more senators oppose Performance Royalties


Already holding a majority in the House, NAB is now touting the addition of three more senators as co-sponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act – which opposes the imposition of any Performance Royalties on radio stations. That brings the Senate count to 19.

Senators Tim Johnson (D-SD), Joseph Lieberman (I-CT) and Olympia Snowe (R-ME) have signed on as cosponsors to S. Con. Res. 14.

Also, in the House, Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-LA) has signed on, bringing the count there to 238.

“In addition to serving as the recording industry’s number one promotional vehicle, local radio stations provide communities across America with timely news and life-saving emergency information,” said NAB Executive Vice President Dennis Wharton. “Lawmakers are becoming increasingly skeptical over an RIAA proposal that would jeopardize the viability of free, local radio in order to line the coffers of foreign-owned record labels,” he added.