Trailblazer Talbott: Premiere Head To Receive MIW Honor


To many, Premiere Networks President Julie Talbott is a trailblazer.

The Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW) Group are now making that official.

Talbott will receive the 10th annual MIW Radio Group Trailblazer Award on September 26 at the Radio Show in Orlando. She will receive the honor during the session “The Podcast Boom.”

The MIW Radio Group Trailblazer Award is presented annually to a woman who, through her leadership and success in the industry, creates opportunities for other women in radio to further their careers. It was renamed the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in 2012 in honor of the longtime President/CEO of Broadcast Music Inc. (BMI).

Talbott has 30 years of experience in the media business. She started her career at BBDO Advertising before moving on and becoming COO of MJI Broadcasting, which was bought by Premiere Networks parent Clear Channel Communications in 1999.

After serving in various capacities at Premiere, she was named President of the company in January 2014. In her current role, Talbott oversees the operation of Premiere’s roster of more than 100 radio programs with more than 6,000 affiliations. Talbott is also tasked with managing business partnerships with talent, and leading and maintaining key affiliate relationships to sell and service Premiere Networks, Total Traffic & Weather Network and the 24/7 News Network.

She has been consistently recognized as one of Radio Ink’s “Most Powerful People in Radio.”

“The highest honor the MIW Group bestows is our Trailblazer Award and Julie Talbott epitomizes its very essence,” MIW Group Spokeswoman Denyse Mesnik said. “Julie is a powerful force that combines genuine Southern charm and graciousness with intellectual prowess and business acumen. She has blazed many trails throughout her career, and continues today to leave her indelible mark on Radio. We are grateful for her efforts.”

Talbott added, “I’m incredibly honored and humbled to be recognized with this award. It’s a privilege to join the ranks of so many MIW Trailblazers whom I greatly respect and admire. The work that the MIW Group does to promote the advancement of women in our industry is truly inspiring, and I hope to continue encouraging other women to keep pushing the bar by setting their goals high and working hard to achieve them.”

Talbott joins a group of media professionals including Mary Quass (2017), Beth Neuhoff (2016), Kim Guthrie (2015), Diane Sutter (2014), Weezie Kramer (2013), Caroline Beasley (2012, Ginny Hubbard Morris (2011), Lynn Anderson (2010 and Erica Farber (2009).