Wexler Named WBA Board Chair


An individual who oversees a group of radio stations that are up for sale has just become the Chair of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association.

Taking the position of WBA Chair is Steve Wexler, the VP/Radio of The E.W. Scripps Company since April 2015, when it acquired Journal Communications—the Milwaukee-based company that Wexler had been associated with since August 1993.

Following a role as Program Manager for King Broadcasting’s KING-AM in Seattle, Wexler moved to Wisconsin’s biggest city to serve in a similar role for heritage News/Talker WTMJ-AM 620.

After stints in Tucson and Omaha, respectively, Wexler returned to Milwaukee in August 2007.

What’s Wexler’s future? It could very well involve WTMJ following its upcoming sale by Scripps.

On Jan. 25, 2018, Scripps confirmed that it has put its 34 radio stations up for sale. Along with WTMJ, Scripps owned WKTI-FM 94.5 in Milwaukee.

Wexler new role at the WBA Chair came during the association’s Winter Conference Business Luncheon, held last week at the Madison Concourse Hotel.

Wexler succeeds Dick Record, NSM for Mid-West Family Broadcasting in La Crosse, Wisc. Record finished his term and will now serve as immediate past chair for the coming year.

The rest of the WBA officers for 2018-2019 are as follows:

Vice Chair-Radio/Chair-Elect
Nancy Douglass, WLKG-FM, Lake Geneva

Vice Chair-TV
Steve Lavin, WBAY-TV, Green Bay

Chris Bernier, Radio Plus, Marinette/Fond du Lac

Don Vesely, WMTV-TV, Madison

The following were elected to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors:

Director (SE District)
Chuck Sullivan, Entercom, Milwaukee

Director (SW District)
Brian Burns, Morgan Murphy Media, Madison

Director (NE District)
Michael Wright, Midwest Communications, Wausau

Director (NW District)
Judson Beck, WLAX-TV/WEUX-TV, La Crosse/Eau Claire