2014 Radio Mercury Awards winners chosen in NYC


mercuryWinners for the 2014 Radio Mercury Awards were announced 6/4 at the 23rd annual awards reception at le Poisson Rouge in NYC. This year’s $50,000 Best of Show award was given to Wieden+Kennedy for their spot, “MomSong” for Old Spice. 

“MomSong was the clear choice and the most engaging spot we heard,” noted Matt Eastwood, worldwide chief creative officer, JWT and this year’s chief judge. “All of this year’s winners deserve to be recognized for their inspiring and exceptionally creative spots and campaigns.”

“These winning spots and campaigns are true testaments to radio’s ability to engage consumers, build brands and inspire the next generation of creative minds,” said Erica Farber, RAB CEO and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “Our mission is to recognize those storytellers who create an audiophoric world and truly capture our hearts and minds.”

Matt Eastwood, JWT and Chief Judge, with Justine Armour, Best of Show Winner W+K, and Erica Farber

This year’s Marketer of the Year Award was presented to GEICO. Bruce Reese, CEO of Hubbard Radio presented this year’s award to Amy Hooks, broadcast marketing manager from GEICO. Erica Farber noted that “their partnership with the radio industry over the past several years to drive key objectives forward by leveraging the medium’s strongest equities has truly set GEICO apart. The unique manner in which GEICO localizes their spots and their commitment to initiatives such as the “Something to Be Proud of” vignettes targeting Federal employees are just a few more of the many examples of their effective, strategic, and creative use of the Radio medium.”

The ceremony was hosted by Eric and Kathy from Hubbard Radio’s 101.9 The Mix in Chicago, and included the following presenters: Jim & Kim from CBS Radio’s Fresh 102.7, Wendy Wild from CCME’s WKTU, DJ Enuff from Emmis Communication’s Hot 97, and Ino Gomez from Univision Radio’s WADO 1280 AM. DJ Whutevva from CCME’s Power 105.1 served as the guest DJ for the night.

In attendance were numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community including the aforementioned Matt Eastwood, DDB NY, Bill Koenigsberg, Kimberly Aiello, Christine Lembo, Melissa Zeoli, Lauren Russo from Horizon Media; Bill Brower, Melissa Halicy, Amy Hooks from GEICO; Brad Higdon, Dean Jarrett, Jackie Davenport from the Martin Agency; Jim Elliott, Y&R NY; Jill Applebaum, JWT NY. Also in attendance were creative teams from the Barbarian Group, Barton F. Graf 9000, BBDO NY, DDB Chicago, DDB NY, Deutsch LA, Kirshenbaum Bond Senecal + Partners, Ogilvy & Mather, Wieden+Kennedy, and Y&R New York.

The winners:


$50,000 Best of Show


Old Spice



$6,000 Agency/Production Company





$3,000 Agency/Production Company



Deutsch LA


$1,500 Innovative Use of Radio

Endangered song

Smithsonian’s National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute



$3,000 Integrated Radio Campaign

It Can Wait


BBDO New York


$3,000 Integrated Radio Campaign


New York Lottery



$3,000 PSA





$6,000 Radio Campaign

I’m Sorry, I Was Eating a Milky Way

Mars, Inc. – Milky Way

DDB Chicago


$3,000 Radio Campaign

Netflix Holiday Radio


Deutsch LA


$1,500 Radio Promotion of Year

2013 iHeartRadio Music Festival


Clear Channel Media + Entertainment


$6,000 Radio Station Produced


Buy Doors Direct

Clear Channel Creative Services Group


$6,000 Spanish Language Campaign

Wake Up


JWT San Juan


$3,000 Spanish Language

James Bond Ortega

Argentina New Cinema



$1,500 Student

I’m Going to Die

The Humane Society

Portfolio Center