59 news organizations win National Edward R. Murrow Awards


The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the 2010 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners. In all, 59 news organizations received the awards, which honor excellence in electronic journalism.

NBC News earned five Murrow awards, including the award for Overall Excellence in the network television grouping. NBC also won Murrows for Best Newscast, Breaking News, Writing and Hard News Reporting.

CBS News earned four Murrow Awards in the network television grouping this year, including two for “60 Minutes,” (Feature Reporting and Investigative Reporting) and two for CBS News (News Documentary and News Series.)

For the first time in 2010 RTDNA honored audio and video news produced exclusively for online news organizations. The Associated Press won every award presented to an online news organization with a national audience, including the award for News Series with the entry, “Marine’s Diary,” an interactive, three-part video essay.

CNN.com took the award for network television website.

Its coverage of the 2009 Iranian elections earned ABC News the Murrow for Continuing Coverage in the network television grouping.

In network radio, CBS Radio News won its fourth consecutive Overall Excellence award, while National Public Radio won four Murrow awards including the awards for Best Website and Hard News Reporting.
To earn an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must consistently demonstrate depth and scope in its coverage. Overall Excellence award winners this year are:

NBC News (network television)
CBS Radio News (network radio)
Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN (online news operation, local)
KHOU-TV, Houston (television, large market)
KTVB-TV, Boise, ID (television, small market)
WBUR-FM, Boston, MA (radio, large market)
WATD-FM, Marshfield, MA (radio, small market)

Click here to see all of the award winners and experience their audio/video entries.

The awards will be presented at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York on October 11, 2010.