A ‘Legendary’ Night For CBS As Marconis Are Awarded

AUSTIN, TEX. — A radio station that will soon be owned by Entercom that’s home to one of the most successful news and information formats has taken home the “Legendary Station of the Year” award at the 2017 NAB Marconi Radio Awards.


Taking the award is CBS Radio’s all-News WCBS-AM 880 in New York.

The award comes following the station’s recent 50th anniversary celebration — a star-studded Aug. 8 affair featuring a special interview and closing song from legendary recording artist Tony Bennett. 

The 28th annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show, sponsored by Xperi, closed out Thursday’s full day of sessions and keynote addresses at the 2017 Radio Show.

The awards were founded in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi. The NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

This year’s NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients are:

Legendary Station of the Year
WCBS-AM, New York, NY
AC Station of the Year
WBEB-FM, Philadelphia, PA
Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year
Rickey Smiley, Reach Media Inc.
CHR Station of the Year
KRBE-FM, Houston, TX
Major Market Personality of the Year
Funkmaster Flex, WQHT-FM, New York, NY
Classic Hits Station of the Year
WPBG-FM, Peoria, IL
Large Market Personality of the Year
Linda Lee, WYCD-FM, Detroit, MI
Country Station of the Year
KPLX-FM, Dallas, TX
Medium Market Personality of the Year
Steve McIntosh & Ted Woodward, KNSS-FM, Wichita, KS
News/Talk Station of the Year
WDBO-FM, Orlando, FL
Small Market Personality of the Year
Ken Thomas, WJJY-FM, Brainerd, MN
Non-commercial Station of the Year
WRHU-FM, Hempstead, NY
Major Market Station of the Year
WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.
Religious Station of the Year
WLIB-AM, New York, NY
Large Market Station of the Year
WKRQ-FM, Cincinnati, OH
Rock Station of the Year
KSHE-FM, St. Louis, MO
Medium Market Station of the Year
KRMG-FM, Tulsa, OK
Sports Station of the Year
KTCK-FM, Dallas, TX
Small Market Station of the Year
KNDE-FM, College Station, TX
Urban Station of the Year
WHQT-FM, Miami, FL
Marconi finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy.

The votes were tabulated by an independent firm.