NEXT GEN TV Group Elects Board Members


Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee have elected four “experienced industry executives” to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that begin in January 2020. Concurrently, two directors were appointed to the ATSC board by their respective professional associations.

Current directors who were re-elected are Dr. Jong Kim, of LG Electronics, and Pete Sockett, of Raleigh-based Capitol Broadcasting.

Two previous Board Chairmen – Richard Friedel, of Fox Television Stations, and former NBC Universal executive Glenn Reitmeier – are returning to the board after being term-limited in 2018.

Dave Siegler, who previously represented Cox Media Group on the ATSC Board, was appointed to the board by the Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE).

Former ATSC Board Chairman Wayne Luplow, formerly with Zenith Electronics, was appointed by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as its 2020 ATSC board representative.

Current board members whose terms continue in 2020 are: Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters; Mark Corl, Triveni Digital; Jim DeChant, News-Press & Gazette Company; Jon Fairhurst, Samsung; Ira Goldstone, Cobalt Digital; Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association; Anne Schelle, Pearl TV; Andy Scott, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association; and Craig Todd, Dolby.

ATSC board members who completed their terms at the end of 2019 are Thomas Bause Mason, SMPTE; Dr. Paul Hearty, Technology Advisors; and Dr. Yiyan Wu, Communications Research Centre, who represented IEEE on the board this year.

Claudy is completing his current term as ATSC Board Chairman at year-end.

The board will elect the 2020 Chairman at its first meeting of the new year.