Broadcasters Foundation to honor Del Bryant


BFoA / Broadcasters Foundation of AmericaThe Broadcasters Foundation of America has announced Del Bryant, President of Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI), as the recipient of the 2014 Golden Mike Award.  The Golden Mike will be presented on Monday, February 24 at a black-tie fundraising gala at the Plaza Hotel in New York City to benefit the Foundation’s mission of helping broadcasters in need.

“Del has been an admirable and inspiring supporter of the mission of the Broadcasters Foundation for many years,” noted Phil Lombardo, Chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation.  “Well-known and respected across the broadcasting and music industries, his contribution as a longtime member of the Foundation’s Board of Directors is immeasurable.  We are proud to award him the 2014 Golden Mike.”

“I am honored to be recognized by the Broadcasters Foundation of America with the Golden Mike Award,” said Bryant.  “I have always felt strongly about giving back to the community, both from a professional and personal standpoint.  It has been a privilege to support the Foundation and to collaborate with them throughout the years.  I commend them for the exceptional work they do for broadcasters and the sweet and understanding attitude with which they do it.”

The son of Boudleaux and Felice Bryant – the legendary songwriters who penned classics such as “Bye, Bye Love,” “Wake Up Little Susie,” All I Have To Do Is Dream,” the Tennessee state song, “Rocky Top,” and more – Bryant’s rich musical heritage inspired his accomplishments and passion for the business.  He joined BMI in 1972, and worked in numerous areas of the company for 32 years, rising to President and CEO in 2004.

Among his many accomplishments, Bryant played a leading role in re-engineering and modernizing BMI’s royalty distribution system and spearheaded several successful initiatives, including revitalizing BMI’s Film & Television department and directing the establishment of the Latin Music and R&B/Hip-Hop divisions.  In addition to his work with the Broadcasters Foundation, Bryant serves on the boards of CISAC and the Songwriters Hall of Fame, and is the past Chairman of FastTrack.

Previous Golden Mike Award recipients have included BMI’s Frances Preston, Clear Channel’s Lowry Mays, New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Disney’s Anne Sweeney, and more.



Comments are closed.