Bureaucrats, association heads descend on the Hill


Jonathan Adelstein will be doing the honors for the FCC and John Kneuer will represent the NTIA Wednesday as the Senate Commerce Committee takes yet another look at the DTV transition. After they are through being grilled, a select group of five association honchos will hop into the frying pan. They include David Rehr of the National Association of Broadcasters, John Lawson of Association of Public Television Stations, National Cable and Telecommunications Association’s Kyle McSlarrow and Mark Peal of the Consumer Electronics Retailers Coalition. Also on hand to present the satellite perspective will be John Gieselman of DirecTV and Mark Pearl. The session starts at 2:30.

For Kneuer, it will be his second hearing. He is said to be booked with the House Commerce Committee’s Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet along with FCC Chairman Kevin Martin to discuss the same topic during a morning session. The other panelists for that meeting have not yet been announced.