CMA Announces 2009 Broadcast Awards finalists


Final nominees for the nation’s top Country radio stations and broadcast personalities were delivered to Country Radio on Wednesday, when Chuck Wicks revealed the 2009 CMA Broadcast Personality and Radio Station of the Year finalists. The winners will be notified in mid-October and will be acknowledged at “The 43rd Annual CMA Awards,” to be held Wednesday, November 11th (8-11 pm ET) and broadcast live by the ABC Television Network from Nashville.

Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return to host “Country Music’s Biggest Night” for a second year.

The CMA Broadcast Awards finalists were announced prior to the live announcement of the final nominees for the 2009 CMA Awards on ABC’s “Good Morning America” and on a special edition of “CMT Insider” on CMT.

Here are the finalists.


—  “American Country Countdown” (Kix Brooks) – Citadel Media
—  “Bob Kingsley’s Country Top 40” (Bob Kingsley) – KCCS Productions, Inc.
—  “The Lia Show” (Lia Knight)  – Dial Global

Major Market
—  “The All New Dr. Don Morning Show with Doc, Grunwald, Rachael, and Jason” (Don Carpenter, Steve Grunwald, Rachael Hunter, Jason “The 300 Pound Cowboy” Raithel) – WYCD, Detroit, Mich.
—  “Cliff and Company: Cliff, Morgan, Tanner, and Tori” (Cliff Dumas, Morgan Thomas, Bill Tanner, Tori Peck) – KSON, San Diego, Calif.
—  “The Cornbread Morning Show featuring Cornbread, Pat James, Producer Annie, Father Harry, and Captain Mac” (Cornbread, Pat James, Annie Henson, Harry Schroeder, Mac “Captain Mac” Douglas) – WIL, St. Louis, Mo.
—  “The Laurie De Young Morning Show” (Laurie De Young) – WPOC, Baltimore, Md.
—  “Paul Schadt and Sarah in the Morning” (Paul Schadt, Sarah Waters) – WKKT, Charlotte, N.C.

Large Market
—  “Bucky & Bob: The Talk of Austin” (Bucky Godbolt, Bob Cole) – KVET, Austin, Texas
—  “Chris Carr & Company” – (Chris Carr, Jeffrey “Maverick” Bolen, Jason Statt) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio
—  “Jeff Roper in the Morning” (Jeff Roper, Angie Ward, Adam “Flash” Dellinger) – WTQR, Greensboro/Winston-Salem/High Point, N.C.
—  “Jim Denny and Friends” (Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, Kevin Freeman) – WFMS, Indianapolis, Ind.
—  “Karen, Scott and Radar. . .The Moo Crew” (Karen Dalessandro, Scott Dolphin, Tony “Radar” Hess) – WMIL, Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.

Medium Market
—  “The 97 Country Breakfast Club with Roger, Tom, and Melissa” (Roger Todd, Tom O’Brien, Melissa Moran) – WPCV, Lakeland, Fla.
—  “Brian and Kellie Morning Show” (Brian Pierce, Kellie Michaels) – KFDI, Wichita, Kan.
—  “The Kat 103 Morning Show with Steve Lundy, Gina, and Craig (Steve Lundy, Gina Melton, Craig Allen) – KXKT, Omaha, Neb.
—  “Tom & Becky in the Morning” (Tom Owens, Becky Palmer) – WBBS, Syracuse, N.Y.
—  “WIVK at Night with Jack Ryan” (Jack Ryan) – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.

Small Market
—  “Barrett, Fox & Berry” (Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, Tracy Berry) – KKNU, Eugene, Ore.
—  “Bearman and Ken in the Morning” (Benny “Bearman” Martin, Ken Hicks) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
—  “Gator & The StyckMan” (Gator Harrison, Greg “StyckMan” Owens) – WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn.
—  “Mee in the Morning” (Kevin Mee, Brenda Mee) – KIZN, Boise, Idaho
—  “Middays with Philip Gibbons” (Philip Gibbons) – WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn.


Major Market
—  KMPS – Seattle/Tacoma, Wash.
—  KYGO – Denver/Boulder, Colo.
—  WPOC – Baltimore, Md.
—  WYCD – Detroit, Mich.

Large Market
—  KAJA – San Antonio, Texas
—  KASE – Austin, Texas
—  WQDR – Raleigh, N.C.
—  WTQR – Greensboro/Winston-Salem/High Point, N.C.
—  WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio

Medium Market
—  KSSN – Little Rock, Ark.
—  KUZZ – Bakersfield, Calif.
—  KXKT – Omaha, Neb.
—  WBBS – Syracuse, N.Y.
—  WGNA – Albany/Schenectady/Troy, N.Y.

Small Market
—  WAXX – Eau Claire, Wis.
—  WBKR – Owensboro, Ky.
—  WKSF – Asheville, N.C.
—  WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn.
—  WYCT – Pensacola, Fla.

“The 43rd Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer, Paul Miller is the Director, and David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Premiere Radio Networks is the official radio packager of the CMA Awards. American Airlines is the official airline of the 2009 CMA Awards. Chevy: The Official Ride of Country Music.