Limbaugh Spark Selected For Lifetime Achievement Honor


In 1987, a production company devoted to Talk radio was established by a radio industry veteran with nearly 30 years of sales experience — including an eight-year tenure ending in 1972 as GSM for then-ABC’s News/Talk KGO-AM 810 in San Francisco.

This individual, Edward F. McLaughlin, in 1988 became the producer of The Rush Limbaugh Show. Today, he’s credited with making Limbaugh a household name. Now, he’s being honored for this and other career achievements by the Broadcasters Foundation of America.

McLaughlin will be honored with the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award at the Broadcasters Foundation of America’s Golden Mike Award dinner.

The gala, which serves as an annual fundraising event for the Broadcasters Foundation’s mission of helping broadcasters in need, will be held on Monday, March 5 at the Plaza Hotel in New York.

McLaughlin holds the prestigious title of Chairman Emeritus of the charitable organization.

“Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award from the charitable organization that I have believed in and supported for many years means a great deal to me,” stated McLaughlin. “I am grateful for the generosity of the broadcasters who make it possible for the Broadcasters Foundation to help our colleagues.”

Dan Mason, Chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation of America, added, “Ed is a visionary who took chances that led broadcasting into uncharted territory and tremendous success. His dedication and leadership of the Broadcasters Foundation helped advance our mission. It is with great pride that we honor his innovation and recognize his years of service.”

A life-long broadcaster, McLaughlin founded EFM Media Management in 1987 and syndicated The Dr. Dean Edell Show. Shortly thereafter, he launched the national syndication of KFBK-AM 1530 in Sacramento radio host Rush Limbaugh, which led to the revitalization of AM radio and the news/talk format.

During a 14-year tenure at the helm of ABC Radio Networks which stretched to 1986, McLaughlin guided the expansion of long-form programming, acquiring American Top 40 with Casey Kasem, launching American Country Countdown with Bob Kingsley, and championing Paul Harvey’s program to reach 1,000 affiliates.

McLaughlin has received numerous accolades, including Radio Ink’s Lifetime Leadership Award in 2010 and the National Association of Broadcasters’ National Radio Award in 1996. He was the first chairman of the Radio Network Association, a long-standing board member of the International Radio & Television Foundation, and a trustee of The Paley Center for Media. He was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 1995.

McLaughlin joins Dick ClarkBill Hoffman, and Charles Osgood as a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. As previously announced, Emily Barr of Graham Media Group will receive the Broadcasters Foundation’s 2018 Golden Mike Award.