Pai, O’Rielly Dissenters In FCC Cross-Ownership

Michael O'Rielly
FCC Commissioner Michael O’Rielly

Republican FCC Commissioners Ajit Pai and Michael O’Rielly are the lone dissenters on what is now known as a 3-2 decision to largely keep the Commission’s 41-year-old broadcast cross-ownership rules intact.

The release of the nearly 200-page Second Report and Order on August 25 revealed one new detail: “Minor modifications” were made to the rules, making it now permissible for a single company to own a broadcast station or newspaper in a given market if either media property “is failed or failing.”

“Viewpoint diversity” was perhaps the key consideration in how the FCC reviewed its rules, and how Commissioners ultimately voted.

Please Login to view this premium content. (Not a member? Join Today!)