FCC’s CEDC Working Group Members Revealed


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel has appointed a host of individuals — many of which are broadcast media executives — to serve as members of the three working groups of the Communications Equity and Diversity Council: Innovation and Access, Digital Empowerment and Inclusion, and Diversity and Equity.

The working groups, which will assist the CEDC in carrying out its mission, include members of the CEDC, additional working group members and independent subject matter experts.

The CEDC’s mission is to focus on diversity and equity across the tech sector. The FCC explains, “The Council will provide the Commission with recommendations on advancing equity in the provision of and access to digital communication services and products for all people of the United States.”

The Innovation and Access Working Group will recommend solutions to reduce entry barriers and encourage ownership and management of media, digital, communications services and next-generation technology properties and start-ups to encourage viewpoint diversity by a broad range of voices.

Robert Brooks, Digital Solutions Specialist — WHUR-FM 96.3 in Washington, D.C.

Members of the CEDC Appointed to the Innovation and Access Working Group:

  • Matthew Bauer, VP/Executive Director of Connected Communities — Wireless Research Center
  • Caroline Beasley, CEO, Beasley Media Group
  • Milton Clipper, Founder, Clipper and Company — Representing America’s Public Television Stations
  • Anna Gomez, Partner, Wiley Rein LLP and ACDDE Chair Emeritus — Representing Hispanic National Bar Association
  • Cecelia Gordon, Vice President of Distribution, Starz
  • David Honig, President/CEO, JulGlo Productions LLC
  • Sherman Kizart, Managing Director and Founder, Kizart Media Partners
  • Henry Rivera, Partner, Wiley Rein — Representing Emma Bowen Foundation
  • Steven Roberts, President and Principal — The Roberts Companies
  • Joycelyn Tate, Senior Policy Advisor — Black Women’s Roundtable, National Coalition on Black Civic Participation

Additional Individuals Appointed Members of the CEDC Innovation and Access Working Group:

  • Barbara Ciara, Managing Editor, WTKR-TV in Norfolk — Representing the National Association of Black Journalists
  • Susan Corbett, Founder — National Digital Equity Center
  • Tripp Crouse, News Director — KNBA in Anchorage, Alaska — Representing the Native American Journalists Association
  • Monica Desai, Global Head of Connectivity and Access Policy at Facebook — Representing INCOMPAS
  • Jorge Figueredo, Executive Director — Edu-Futuro
  • Charles Harrell II, President and CEO — The IT Architect Corporation
  • C. Howie Hodges, II, Co-founder and Sr. Vice President of Government and External Affairs — Centri Tech
  • Jennifer J. Jackson, EVP — Stellar TV and Central City Productions
  • Leticia Latino-Van Spluteren, CEO — Neptuno USA
  • Eve Lewis, Assistant City Attorney — City of Coconut Creek, Fla.

The Digital Empowerment and Inclusion Working Group will make recommendations for addressing digital redlining and other barriers that impact equitable access to emerging technology in under-served and under-connected communities.

The Diversity and Equity Working Group will propose solutions and approaches on how the FCC can affirmatively advance equity, civil rights, racial justice, and equal opportunity in the telecommunications industry to address inequalities in workplace employment policies and programs.

Among its Members are Skip Dillard, the recently appointed Brand Manager for Audacy-owned Classic Hip-Hop WXBK “94.7 The Block” in New York.

And, as an “additional individual” appointed to this group is Otto Padrón, President/CEO of Meruelo Media.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here