Groups renew “Wheel of Fortune” and “Jeopardy!”


Seven ABC O&O stations have renewed top-performing syndicated shows “Wheel of Fortune” and “Jeopardy!” for two years beyond their current contracts. CBS Television Distribution says that will keep the shows on the ABC O&Os through the 2013-2014 season.

John Nogawski, President of CBS Television Distribution, announced the renewals by WABC-TV New York; KABC-TV Los Angeles; WLS-TV Chicago; WPVI-TV Philadelphia; KGO-TV San Francisco; WTVD-TV Raleigh-Durham, NC; and KFSN-TV Fresno, CA.

“We are thrilled to continue our enduring and prosperous relationship with the ABC stations with Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! It just proves that the best answer for long-term success is to have the two biggest shows in syndication on your airwaves,” said Nogawski.

Wheel of Fortune has ranked as the #1 syndicated series on television for 26 years and currently, in its 27th season, averages 11.4 million daily viewers. Emmy Award-winning Jeopardy!, now in its 26th season, is averaging just under 10 million daily viewers.
In the most recent sweep in February 2010, both shows continued to grow year-to-year, with Wheel of Fortune gaining +3% to a 7.4 HH AA% and Jeopardy! increasing +9% to a 6.3 HH AA%.

As the renewal effort continues, CBS Television Distribution says Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! are already cleared in 35% of the country. This new deal will take Wheel of Fortune to its 31st season and Jeopardy! will reach its 30th season. 

In addition to the ABC stations, other major groups renewing both shows include Allbritton Communications, Fisher Broadcasting and Meredith Broadcasting Group.

Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! are produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company, and are distributed domestically by CBS Television Distribution and internationally by CBS Studios International, both units of CBS Corporation.