House Democrats name Communications panelists


U.S. CongressThe Democratic side of the House Subcommittee on Communications has been named, a task the Republican side completed over a month earlier. Although Ranking Member assignments are not yet official, Anna Eshoo (D-CA) is expected to continue to be the opposite number to Subcommittee chair Greg Walden (R-OR).

In issuing a list of members to all Energy and Commerce Committee subcommittees, Democratic leadership took the occasion to note that only those bills with broad bipartisan support became the law of the land – everything pushed through without Democratic support failed.

The members of the Communications Subcommittee are:
Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA, Ranking Member
Edward J. Markey (D-MA)
Michael F. Doyle (D-PA)
Doris O. Matsui (D-CA)
Bruce Braley (D-IA)
Peter Welch (D-NH)
Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM)
John D. Dingell (D-MI)
Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ)
Bobby L. Rush (D-IL)
Diana DeGette (D-CO)
Jim Matheson (D-UT)
Henry A. Waxman (D-CA) (Ex Officio)

The majority Republican roster is as follows:
Greg Walden (R-OR)
Vice Chairman: Bob Latta (OH)
John Shimkus (IL)
Lee Terry (NE)
Mike Rogers (MI)
Marsha Blackburn (TN)
Steve Scalise (LA)
Leonard Lance (NJ)
Brett Guthrie (KY)
Cory Gardner (CO)
Mike Pompeo (KS)
Adam Kinzinger (IL)
Billy Long (MO)
Renee Ellmers (NC)
Joe Barton (TX)
Fred Upton (MI)

RBR-TVBR observation: Attention broadcasters: your mission, should one of these individuals serve your own personal Congressional district, is to make sure they are well-apprised of the valuable services broadcasters provide to the local community, and further to make sure they are well aware of broadcast positions on important legislative matters that may come up during the 113th Congress.