Legislators try again to head off Fairness


Platoons of Republican legislators in both houses of Congress are trying once again to get a vote on the Broadcaster Freedom Act. In fact, majorities of the Republican side of both aisles are signed on as co-sponsors, while Democrats are nowhere to be seen. Jim DeMint (R-SC) and John Thune (R-SD) are spearheading the effort in the Senate, with 29 co-sponsors, and by Mike Pence (R-IN) and Greg Walden (R-OR) in the House, with 177 co-sponsors.

 “I’m glad President Obama finally confirmed his opposition to the Fairness Doctrine, which attacks the right of free speech on talk radio, but many Democrats in Congress are still pushing it,” observed DeMint. “With the support of the new administration, now is the time for Congress to take a stand against this kind of censorship. I intend to seek a vote on this amendment next week so every senator is on record: Do you support free speech or do you want to silence voices you disagree with?”

DeMint listed a posse of Democratic legislators who he claims have all made pro-Fairness statements on the record, including Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), and Dick Durbin (D-IL), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Tom Harkin (D-IA) and Diane Feinstein (D-CA).

RBR/TVBR observation: The case has been made, by Democrats, that they occasionally are ambushed into remarks in support of Fairness, but that they are not taking any steps to reanimate the Doctrine. Most recently, Stabenow supported it and just as swiftly denied any plans to do any thing about it. OK, Democrats, if that’s true, then just do it. Support the DeMint/Thune and Pence/Walden bills, let Obama sign it, and put the matter to rest once and for all.