LFRA Continues to Pick Up Steam


U.S. CongressThe Local Radio Freedom Act picked up 11 new co-sponsors in the House and two more in the Senate, building support for the notion that there should be no new performance royalty imposed on free over-the-air radio.

The measure has 144 signatures in the House and nine in the Senate.

“NAB is gratified that in just a few months of a new Congess, nearly a third of the House of Representatives has stood up for free and local radio,” said NAB Executive Vice President of Communications Dennis Wharton. “We’re hopeful that more lawmakers will sign this resolution and preserve hometown radio’s ability to drive music sales and expose more artists.”

New to the list in the Senate are:
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Jerry Moran (R-KS)

New House co-sponsors include:
Larry Bucshon (IN-8)
Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
Glenn Grothman (WI-6)
Richard Hanna (NY-22)
Robert Latta (OH-5)
Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2)
Frank Lucas (OK-3)
David Schweikert (AZ-6
Jackie Walorski (IN-2)
Brad Wenstrup (OH-2)
Roger Williams (TX-25)