Library of American Broadcasting names honorees


Library of American BroadcastingThe national Library of American Broadcasting will present its 11th Annual Giants of Broadcasting Honors at a ceremony and luncheon to be held 10/16 in NYC. The event celebrates distinguished leadership or performance in television and radio. Eleven honorees will be recognized in 2013 for excellence in the electronic communications arts, joining 159 Giants of Broadcasting who have been honored by the Library since 2003.

Honorees include:

–Anne Sweeny, Co-Chair of Disney Media Networks, President of the Disney/ABC Television Group

–Alex Trebek, Iconic Host of Jeopardy

–Barry Diller, Media Mogul and Creator of Fox and USA Broadcasting, Former CEO of Paramount Pictures, Chairman of and Senior Executive of IAC

–Morley Safer, 60 Minutes Correspondent and Pioneering War Reporter at CBS

–Dick Cavett, Emmy-Winning Talk Show Legend, Comedian and Writer

–Jeff Smulyan, Founder, CEO and President of Emmis Communications

–Robert L. Johnson, Founder and Former CEO of BET, Founder and Chairman of The RLJ Companies

–David E. Kelley, Creator of Television Shows including Picket Fences, Chicago Hope, The Practice, Ally McBeal, Boston Public, Boston Legal and Harry’s Law

–Richard E. Wiley, FCC Former Chairman, Commissioner and General Counsel

–Richard Leibner, Founder and President of N.S. Bienstock, Talent Agent who has represented TV Journalists including Dan Rather, Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Diane Sawyer, Maria Shriver and Andy Rooney

–Carole Cooper, Talent Agent who has represented TV Journalists, including Bill O’Reilly, Anderson Cooper and Lara Logan