‘1010 WINS’ Honored As ‘Legendary Station of the Year’


1010winsThe pioneering station known for “All news. All the time” has been declared a legend.

CBS Radio’s all-News WINS-AM 1010 in New York has been named the 2016 “Legendary Station of the Year” at the 2016 National Association of Broadcasters’ (NAB) Marconi Radio Awards, held Thursday night at the Radio Show in Nashville.

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

In addition to “1010 WINS,” this year’s NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients are:

AC Station of the Year

WLEN-FM, Adrian, MI

Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year

Delilah, Premiere Networks

CHR Station of the Year

KTXY-FM,Columbia, MO

Major Market Personality of the Year

Toucher & Rich, WBZ-FM, Boston, MA

Classic Hits Station of the Year

KRTH-FM, Los Angeles, CA

Large Market Personality of the Year

Brooke & Jubal, KQMV-FM, Seattle, WA

Country Station of the Year

KKBQ-FM, Houston, TX

Medium Market Personality of the Year

Chaz & AJ, WPLR-FM, Milford, CT

News/Talk Station of the Year

WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.

Small Market Personality of the Year

Brent Carl Fleshman, WHUB-FM, Cookeville, TN

Non-commercial Station of the Year

WSOU-FM, South Orange, NJ

Major Market Station of the Year

WBEB-FM, Philadelphia, PA

Religious Station of the Year

KLTY-FM, Dallas, TX

Large Market Station of the Year

WBAL-AM, Baltimore, MD

Rock Station of the Year

KCMQ-FM, Columbia, MO

Medium Market Station of the Year

WHKO-FM, Dayton, OH

Spanish Station of the Year

KLOL-FM, Houston, TX

Small Market Station of the Year

WKDZ-FM, Cadiz, KY

Sports Station of the Year

WXYT-FM, Detroit, MI

Urban Station of the Year

WHUR-FM, Washington, D.C.

Marconi finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The votes were tabulated by an independent firm.

Legendary WCBS-FM/New York morning personality and host of the nationally syndicated “America’s Greatest Hits” Scott Shannon served as the host. He quipped that he was lured to Nashville so he could see his “friends” Elvis Duran (the Z100/New York-based syndicated morning host) and WSIX/Nashville-based syndicated morning host Bobby Bones, however they weren’t there — each had traveled to Las Vegas to participate in the iHeart Radio Festival.

Shannon opened the Marconis on a personal note, discussing his childhood love of radio and of music. He also noted that such competitors to radio like Pandora and Sirius XM don’t bother him, and that he still gets goosesbumps every time he cracks the mic to start his morning show in the nation’s No. 1 market — something he first did on August 2, 1983 as he signed Z100 on the air.

The NAB Marconi Radio Awards also featured a performance by Grammy Award-winning singer Jennifer Nettles, courtesy of Big Machine Label Group, while country music superstar performed to a packed house of 16,000+ a block away at Bridgestone Arena.

The Marconi Awards wrapped up the second full day of the 2016 Radio Show, which concludes with an entertainment-focused event tomorrow morning. The show’s organizers report that attendance for this year’s conference is 2,272, up from 2,170 attendees at the 2015 Radio Show in Atlanta.