MIWs Reveal 2021 Airblazer Award Recipient


Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio, the charitable organization dedicated to the advancement of female leadership in radio broadcasting, has revealed the recipient of the 2021 MIW Airblazer Award.

It’s being handed to DeDe McGuire, host of the nationally syndicated “DeDe in the Morning” program.

The MIW Airblazer Award stems from an alliance formed in 2015 between MIW (formerly known as the MIW Group) and Morning Show Bootcamp (MSBC).

“The recipient is carefully selected, as is tradition, by the prior year’s winner and is recognized for her dedication and contributions to the broadcast industry and to the communities she serves,” MIW notes.

The 2021 Airblazer Award will be presented to McGuire on August 12, during MSBC Chicago.

“It’s an honor and I’m completely blown away,” says DeDe McGuire, one of only a few women nationwide to have her own nationally syndicated morning show.

After ten successful years co-hosting the nationally syndicated program “The Doug Banks Show,” McGuire went on to host her own show, syndicated through Compass Media Networks via Service Broadcasting. It can be heard in over 55 markets.

MIW Board President Ruth Presslaff commented, “What a joy to celebrate DeDe and her many accomplishments. Her non-stop work in radio is impressive enough, but it’s her support of so many organizations, and her commitment to mentoring that makes her so special, and so deserving of this award.”

Previous MIW Airblazers include Kellie Rasberry (2019), Mercedes Martinez (2018), Roula Christie (2017), Angie Martinez (2016), and Ellen K (2015).


To register for 2021 MSBC Chicago visit: http://www.morningshowbootcamp.com.