NABLF Head To Receive MIW ‘Trailblazer’ Honor


The President of the NAB Leadership Foundation, who also serves as the Chief Diversity Officer for the National Association of Broadcasters, has been named as the 2022 recipient of the MIW Frances Preston Trailblazer Award by the Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio.

Known as “MIW,” the group is a a 501(c)(3) charitable organization dedicated to the advancement of female leadership in radio broadcasting.

And, it is giving its MIW Trailblazer Award to Michelle Duke.

Through her leadership and success in the industry, Duke has been found to exhibit the traits of one who champions and creates opportunities for other women in radio to further their careers.

The honor in 2012 was renamed the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in honor of  longtime BMI President/CEO Frances Preston.

Duke will receive the honor at a special Main Stage event scheduled for 3:30pm PT on Sunday, April 24 at the NAB Show.

As President of the NAB Leadership Foundation, Duke oversees the team responsible for successful initiatives including The Media Sales Academy, the Technology Apprenticeship Program, and the Broadcast Leadership Training program, which she managed for 15 years. During her tenure, the foundation’s annual fundraiser and gala, the Celebration of Service to America Awards was developed into a television show that airs on local stations across the country.

In her role as Chief Diversity Officer, Michelle develops resources and fosters conversations to assist broadcast stations with developing their diversity strategies. This includes the Diversity Symposium, which will be held at the NAB Show, and the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resource Center available on the NAB website.

“What a joy to recognize and celebrate Michelle’s many accomplishments with this Trailblazer Award,” said MIW Board President Ruth Presslaff. “I’ve worked with Michelle via Broadcast Leadership Training and know firsthand that her efforts are tireless and her work throughout our industry is meaningful. This award was a long time coming. Our Board selected Michelle as our next Trailblazer pre-Pandemic. It’s exhilarating to finally share this wonderful and deserved announcement with Michelle and with all of you.”

With over 30 years of experience in the media industry, Michelle has been listed on Radio Ink’s Most Influential Women in Radio since 2011.

“I am so honored to receive this award and humbled to be amongst the amazing women who have received this before me,” she said. “I’m lucky to have had many women help to shape my career path, and can only hope to leave a similar legacy.”

Prior honorees include Christine Travaglini (2019); Julie Talbott (2018); Mary Quass (2017); Beth Neuhoff (2016); Kim Guthrie (2015); Diane Sutter (2014); Weezie Kramer (2013); Caroline Beasley (2012); Ginny Hubbard Morris (2011); Lynn Anderson (2010); and Erica Farber (2009).