SBE Honors Many


SBELogoThe Society of Broadcast Engineers has honored several individuals for their achievements with the 2016 SBE National Awards.

The awards recognize excellence and achievement. Presented to a member who has excelled in his or her career while furthering the mission of the SBE, the Robert W. Flanders SBE Engineer of the Year was awarded to Michael Hendrickson, of Lakeville, MN. Recently retired, Hendrickson was Director of Engineering for American Public Media and was responsible for the upgrade of MPR stations in Minnesota and several Florida facilities as well. He was in the industry for 35+ years.

Cheryl Lustenberger is the assistant manager at the Tufte Television Facilities at Emerson College and has been instrumental in creating a fun and educational environment to students interested in broadcast engineering. She’s the recipient of the James C. Wulliman SBE Educator of the Year award for outstanding service and excellence in sharing knowledge through teaching other broadcast engineers.

Norman Portillo won the newly added Freedom Award, continuing education and training of broadcast engineering for the military community with his move from the Defense Information School in Maryland to Fort Bragg, North Carolina. He recently established an SBE chapter there and is the chairman.