Six to be honored by The Broadcasters Foundation


The Broadcasters Foundation of America has announced the recipients of the 2010 Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Awards, to be presented during the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Show on April 14 in Las Vegas. Chances are you’ll recognize all six names.
This year, the Broadcasters Foundation has selected for the honor these individuals with highly distinguished careers:  Kerby Confer, owner, Forever Broadcasting; Eddie Fritts, Chairman of the Fritts Group and former President and CEO of the NAB; Wade H. Hargrove, Esq.,  Partner, Brooks Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP; Hal Jackson, legendary air personality; I. Martin Pompadur, renown global media-industry executive; and Bruce T. Reese, President and CEO, Bonneville, International.

The Pioneer Awards are given annually in recognition of overarching career contributions to the broadcast industry and the community at large, and are named in honor of iconic broadcaster Ward L. Quaal. The awards ceremony will take place during the Foundation breakfast at the Bellagio Hotel.

The Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Awards are underwritten by the Hubbard Broadcasting Foundation and the McCormick Foundation.  The breakfast, which is complimentary to all, is sponsored by the National Association of Media Brokers (NAMB), Frank N. Magid Associates, and Arbitron.  Advance registration is requested by April 2 by calling (212) 373-8250 or sending an email to [email protected].