The NEXTGEN TV Train Rolls Into Nebraska


Five Omaha television stations on Tuesday flipped the switch and commenced broadcasting through the use of ATSC 3.0, the new digital broadcast standard giving live to NEXTGEN TV.

Those stations participating in the launch include Hearst Television-owned ABC affiliate KETV-7, The E.W. Scripps Co.’s CBS affiliated KMTV-3, Gray Television’s NBC affiliated WOWT-6, Sinclair Broadcast Groups FOX affiliated KPTM-42 and Sinclair-operated KXVO-15.

KXVO, and affiliate of The TBD Network, is owned by Mitts Telecasting, but is operated by Sinclair via an LMA. And, it is the “lighthouse” for NEXTGEN TV in Omaha-Council Bluffs.

BitPath, which is developing new data broadcasting services, led the planning process and coordinated efforts across the five television stations.