Update: FM Class C4 Allocation / 73.215 Petition for Rulemaking


TowerMatthew Wesolowski, SSR Communications’ WYAB-FM Flora, MS, tells RBR-TVBR that 102 broadcasters representing approximately 396 total stations have now co-signed SSR’s petition to the Media Bureau and to the Commissioners of the FCC.  The petition asks the Commission to issue a formal Notice of Proposed Rulemaking for a Petition for Rulemaking filed in 2013 by SSR and MMTC, which would create a 12kW ‘C4’ allocation, as well as make changes to Section 73.215 of the Commission’s Rules.

The list of endorsements includes commercial AM and FM operators, as well as translator licensees, noncommercial educational FM stations, and even Low Power FMs.  If granted, hundreds of Class A radio stations in Zone II would be eligible to upgrade to the proposed C4 allocation.

Here is our original story